Monday, December 29, 2014

CONCACAF All-time 23 member team excluding Mexico, Costa Rica and the USA

I already all-time teams for the USA, Costa Rica and Mexico.   Here is my CONCACAF All-time 23 member team that excluded players from the three countries.

In recent decades, Mexico, Costa Rica and the United States dominated football in CONCACAF. However, the other countries had made progress in the big stage.  As early as 1938, Cuba went to the World Cup Finals and advanced to the quarterfinal.  Since then, Haiti, Honduras, El Salvador, Canada and Trinidad and Tobago have also qualified for the WC Finals. In 2000, Canada became the only country to win the Gold Cup outside the big three.  And then, Honduras made history at the 2001 Copa America by beating Brazil 2-0 at the quarterfinal and finished 3rd overall.

GK: Joe Kennaway (Canada)
Born in Canada.  He played in the American Soccer League between 1927 and 1931.  He moved to Scotland and joined Celtics in 1931.  He made 295 total appearances.  He represented Canada once in 1926.  In 1933, Kennaway represented Scotland to play against Austria.  Due to objections from other Home Nations, he never played for Scotland again.

GK: Henri Françillon (Haiti)
Henri Françillon  played for Haiti at the 1974 WC Finals in Germany.  After the Finals, he joined Munich 1806.  He is considered one of the greatest keepers from CONCACAF.

GK: Craig Forrest (Canada) 
He spent 12 years with Ipswich Town.  He also played with Chelsea and West Ham United, whilst also spending time on loan in the Football League with Colchester United. He was capped 56 times. He was voted the MVP of the 2000 Gold Cup as Canada won their first major international tournament.

RB:  Anthony Costly  (Honduras)
He was part of Honduras' WC team in Spain 1982.  He played briefly with Malaga in Spain.

CB: Frank Sinclair (Jamaica) 
He spent 8 seasons with Chelsea winning the FA Cup in 1996-1997.  And he won a League Cup with Leicester Town in 2000.  His performance in England led him to be call-up by Jamaica for France 1998. He was one of 7 English-born players on the team.
Frank Sinclair

CM/RB: Atiba Hutchison (Canada) 
He was two-time Canadian Player of the year in 2010 and 2012. He was Danish Super Liga Player of the Year in 2010.  He was a central midfielder or a right wingback.  Between 2010 and 2013, he played for PSV Eindhoven in the Dutch Eredivisie.  At the time of writing, he plays for Beşiktaş J.K.

CB/LB: Maynor Figueroa (Honduras)
He made over 100 caps for Honduras.  He played for Olimpia at home before moving to play in the English Preimership.  At the time of writing, he has spent 7 seasons in England playing for Wigan and Hull City.

CB: Jason de Vos (Canada)
He is considered to be Canada's greatest center-back.  He captained Canada as it won the Gold cup in 2000.  He made the Gold cup all-tournament team in 2000 and 2002.  He spent most of his career in the UK, playing for Dundee United, Wigan Atletic and Ipswich Town. 

CB: Frank Yallop (Canada) 
He played in the Premiership before moving to play in MLS in 1996.  He spent 13 seasons with Ipswich Town and a brief loan move to Blackburn rovers.  He played with Tampa Bay Mutiny.  capped 52 times for Canada.

LB: Bruce Wilson (Canada) 
Considered to be Canada's greatest player. He captained Canada at the WC Finals in 1986.  He played in the NASL, where he won 6 All-Stars selection and three of them first team. Capped over 50 times.

LB: Emilio Izaguirre (Honduras)
Emilio Izaguirre was a key payer with Celtics.  He made a sweep of all the Player of the Year award in Scotland.  He won the Scotland's Premiership Player of the Year, the SFWA Player of the Year and SPFA Player of the Year and Celtic Player of the Year in 2010. 
Emilio Izaguirre

DM/RB: Paul Stalteri (Canada)
He is Canada's all-time cap record holder.  He played over 150 times for Werder Bremen winning the Bundesliga in 2003-2004. He also played for Tottenham Hotspurs and Fulham.  He was a member of Canada's Gold Cup winning team in 2000.

DM: Wilson Palacios (Honduras)
At time of writing, he had spent 7 seasons in the English Premiership.  He had a good spell with Wigan.

DM: Gilberto Yearwood (Honduras)
Regarded as Honduras' greatest ever player.  He spent 10 seasons playing in Spain.  He made his international debut at the WC in Spain. 
CM/DM: Julian de Guzman (Canada)
He is one of the most successful Canadian player in Europe.  He is best remembered for Deportivo La Coruna between 2005 and 2009.  He was voted their best player for the 2007-2008 season. He also had a remarkable career with Hanover 96. For the national team, he is capped 76 times at the time of writing.  he was the MVP for the 2007 Gold Cup.

AM: Amado Guevara (Honduras)
 He is the all-time cap leader for Honduras.  He captained them at the WC Finals in 2010.  He was best remembered for taking Honduras to third place at the Copa America in 2001.  He was the MVP of the tournament.  He was also the MLS MVP in 2004.

AM/FW: Magico Gonzalez (El Salvador)
Some said that he would be ranked among the greatest players ever if he was born Brazilian or Argentine.  He was a star at La Liga during the 1980's.  He led El Salvador to the first and only WC Finals in 1982.  

Magico Gonzalez

FW: José Cardona (Honduras)
He was a star in the 1950's.  He played for Lusitano in Portugal before moving to Spain in 1959.  He was signed by Valencia, but was on loan to Elche in the 2nd Division, where he was the top scorer in 1959.  In 1964, he moved to Atletico Madrid.  He scored the winning goal as Atletico Madrid won Copa del Generalísimo in 1965.

FW: Oscar "Conejo" Sánchez (Guatemala) 
He is widely considered to be the greatest player from his country.  He spent most of his career with Comunicaciones.  He helped his country to qualify for the Olympics in 1976.

ST: Jorge Dely Valdés (Panama)
He is Julio Dely Valdes' twin brother.  He is best remembered for his career with Consadole Sapporo of the  J-League(Japan), where he was the top-scorer for 1993 and 1994 season. He also played in Argentina, Uruguay, Chile and MLS(USA).

ST: Julio Dely Valdes (Panama)
He ia considered to be Panama's greatest player.  He was best-remembered for his stints with Paris Saint-Germain, Cagliari, Real Oviedo and Malaga, where he was a prolific scorer for each of them. He won the Cup Winners' Cup with PSG.

ST: David Suazo (Honduras)
He played for Cagliari and Inter Milan in Italy.  He was Serie A Foreign Player of the year in 2006.

ST: Dwight Yorke (T&T) 
Best remembered for his stint with Manchester United.  In 1998-199 season, Manchester United won the triple(the Premier League, the FA Cup and the Champions' League), where he was both the top scorer in the Preimership and the Champions' League.

Honorable Mention
Emmanuel Sanon (Haiti), Raul Diaz Arce (El Salvador), Carlos Pavon (Honduras), Noel Valladares (Honduras), Dean Burton (Jamaica), Theodore Whitmore (Jamaica), Mauricio Cienfuegos (El Salvador) and Juan Carlos Plata (Guatemala), Bob Lenarduzzi (Canada)

Squad Explanation 
  • Frank Sinclair was the biggest surprise on the team.  I selected him based on his club career in England. 
  • Chus Alonso from Real Madrid never played for Cuba. He played for Spain.  He is ineligible.  I am sure that I missed somebody from Cuba in 1938.
  •  Jorge Dely Valdés was the last player selected.
Starting Lineup
Formation: 4-2-2-2
The defensive unit consists of four defenders and a goalkeeper who had played in the UK. Two of Honduras' greatest players play in the midfield.  Magico Gonzalez would have a free role roaming in the offensive part of the field.

No comments:

Post a Comment